2009 Stellar Awards Nominations Announced in Nashville

November 12, 2008

stellar-awards-2.JPGThe nominees for The 24th Annual Stellar Gospel Music Awards were
revealed in Nashville, Tenn. Don Jackson, Chairman and CEO of Central
City Productions, announced the 2009 nominees.

The prestigious award show will return to Music
City for the 4th consecutive year bringing with it excitement,
anticipation and Gospel music’s brightest stars.

This year’s list of nominees
includes stars from every genre of Gospel music including Traditional,
Contemporary, Urban and Rap/Hip-Hop.

Topping the list, with a
phenomenal nine nominations, is chart-topping traditional Gospel
singer, Marvin Sapp who picks up nominations for “Song of the Year,”
“Male Vocalist of the Year,” and “Traditional Male of the Year,” to
name a few. Sapp is trailed by Dorinda Clark-Cole and Kirk Franklin who
tie with five nominations each. Clark-Cole and Franklin will compete
against Sapp in the “Artist of the Year” and “CD of the Year”

Ricky Dillard, Israel &
New Breed, Canton Jones and last year’s co-host and winner of the Most
Notable Achievement Award, CeCe Winans, tie with four nominations in a
cross section of categories ranging from traditional to contemporary
and urban. Last year’s “Song of the Year” winner Isaiah D. Thomas,
Gospel great Marvin Winans and another of last year’s co-hosts, Byron
Cage, each pick up three nominations.

Deitrick Haddon’s group,
Voices of Unity, garnered three nominations for their CD, “Deitrick
Haddon presents Voices of Unity.” Haddon received two nominations for
his urban inspirational single “Love Him Like I Do,” featuring Ruben
Studdard and Mary, Mary.

Other nominees include “New
Artist of the Year” nominees Jessica Greene, Jai Reed, Terrell Hunt,
Melody and The Murrills. Gospel’s Rap and Hip Hop artists made a lot of
noise this year, and rhyming their way into the spotlight are our
Stellar Award “Rap Hip Hop Gospel CD of the Year” nominees, Da’
T.R.U.T.H., FLAME, Frontlynaz, Sho Baraka, and Trip Lee.

Stellar Awards veteran,
Vickie Winans will receive this year’s “Most Notable Achievement
Award.” Former Tramaine Hawkins music director, Daryl Coley will be on
hand to receive the “James Cleveland Lifetime Achievement Award,”
sponsored by Allstate and “The Dr. Bobby Jones Legend Award,” sponsored
by Walgreens, will go to last year’s “Quartet of the Year,” The Rance
Allen Group. For a complete listing of all nominations, please visit

The Stellar Awards press
conference was sponsored in part by RushmoreDrive.com.
RushmoreDrive.com is the official search engine for the 24th Annual
Stellar Gospel Music Awards. Go to http://www.RushmoreDrive.com for exclusive
airing of the Stellar Awards Pre-Show, for the FIRST time ever.
RushmoreDrive.com is also sponsoring the Stellar Award/RMD Fan Based
Award Weekend Get-a-way, in which one lucky fan will win an opportunity
to PRESENT a Stellar Award! Log on to http://www.RushmoreDrive.com for

The 24th Annual Stellar
Gospel Music Awards Show will be held, once again, at the historic
Grand Ole Opry House in Nashville on January 17, 2009. The awards show
will be co-hosted by comedian Sinbad and others to be announced.
Performers and presenters will be announced at a later date.

Source: EURWeb

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: